Dodo
Video

Communication strategy, series of commercials.
 

The largest Ukrainian manufacturer of puzzles, DoDo Toys, sells goods throughout Ukraine and in Europe. DoDo Toys produces games of very high quality:

all illustrations are created by professional artists, taking into account the child psychology;

due to the high quality of materials, puzzles can be assembled and disassembled many times, the corners do not bend or delaminate, even if the puzzle is assembled by a little child.

The task from the client sounded ambitious: not only to strengthen at the Western market, but also to take noticeable positions on the largest marketplace in the world — Amazon.

Immersion

Despite the seeming simplicity of the product, we decided to study how the category of puzzles works. The first thing we noticed was that in this market everyone is talking about the rational. Price, safety, quality of material, ease of delivery, blah blah blah. Too boring for the children's category. As a result, buyers around the world choose puzzles based only on their attractiveness and price.

People are always more interesting than products. In-depth interviews with young parents have told us a lot about their motives, needs, and pains associated with play. It turned out that for many, playing puzzles with a child quickly gets boring. Not because they are not interested in playing with their child. But because the game itself is simple, and after the first assembly, adults do not know what else to do with it.

And we thought: what if we stop selling puzzles to mums and dads and start selling the involvement in the game process and the benefits of the time spent together? This is how we indirectly address one of the common pains of working parents: guilt for not giving their children enough attention.

Solution

Returning from in-depth interviews to the product, we noticed one thing: all Dodo puzzles allow you to create different stories each time. In one line, puzzles can be assembled in different ways. The second line includes several puzzles in each box. The illustrations of puzzles in the third line consist of a huge number of colorful characters and elements. It turns out that when assembled, DoDo puzzles become the start for different stories, allowing the child to find new things in them every time, and the parents not to get bored during the game.

Looking at the same picture mom will tell one story, the baby — another one, and dad — a third one. And a month later — the fourth, fifth and sixth. So a new layer appears in the puzzle, developing, explaining how the world works.

We just had to come up with a name for a new kind of puzzle game. This is how the term "puzzletelling" was born — a combination of storytelling and puzzles. It will now be associated with all DoDo brand products.

“Panda Steve's mom was, um, an owl. Everyone was surprised: panda Steve, you do not look like your mother at all ... ".

"In one magical land, animals got themselves people ...".

"This is a red car on which ducks run away from a black cat ...".

“It was the seventeenth time the valiant Sasha, his sister Tanya and the brave dog Jack flew on a space expedition ...”.

In fact, puzzletelling is a multilevel instruction that comes with the game. It provides parents with tips about what to talk to the child about, what topics can be taken in the story and what new things to teach each time the puzzle is put together. This is how we create development, and the transfer of values, and fairy tale therapy, and precious time of joint creativity of the child and mom / dad. In the campaign slogan, we showed the key value of the product for parents and child — “One puzzle — endless stories”.

«

The most interesting thing in this task was to get to the bottom of the unobvious pain of the buyer and find a solution for parents, children and the manufacturer. At the same time, the solution is simple, budgetary: actually equal to the cost of the paper on which it is printed.

Max Burtsev, Creative Director of Arriba!

«

The videos connected illustrations from puzzles — which we are very proud of! — with those who play them, and it looks very lively and fun. We noticed that when children see the animated characters of their puzzles in the “cartoon”, it delights them: here I am holding a picture with a panda in my hands, and here is the same panda flying across the sky next to an owl from a neighboring picture. The new word “puzzletelling” invented by Arriba! seems to us very simple and memorable, because everyone loves to tell stories, especially children, and many of them know the word “storytelling”. We are sure that the new campaign will expand the number of buyers of DoDo puzzles around the world, and those who already know us will have a fresh look at their favorite puzzles. And, as always, thanks to Arriba!, not only for the great promotional product, but also for giving us the opportunity to look differently at our favorite masterpiece.

Elena Terpay, co-founder of DoDo Toys

Client: DodoToys
Elena Terpay, Dmitry Terpayfounders.

Agency & Production: Arriba!

Max BurtsevСreative Director;
Julia GaponAccount Manager;
Vlad TorskiyStrategist;
Staska PadalkaСreative Group Head;
Julia RazvenkovaDesigner; 

Lada SabovaDirector & Editor;
Paul ItkinDOP & Color Grading;
Meriam Yol, Denis GalushkaProducers;
Kateryna Romanenko, Natalia VasilyukIllustrations;

Anastasia Steshkina, Oksana Bandura, Irina Makievskaya  — Animation; 
Julia DerkeArt Director;
Lena VyazovskayaArt Department;
Vitaly BachakoGaffer;
Sergey KrinitskyGrip; 
Pavel Likhota — 1st Camera Engineer;
Ilona Golubeva Style & Makeup;
Olya MerkulovaDesigner.
Sound4Ears Sound Production:
Vasily Yavtushenko, Danila OkulovSound Design;
Vasiliy YavtushenkoEditing & Mixing;
Vyacheslav ZabashtaFoley;

PX Rental, Mam.rentalTechnical Support. 

Special Thanks: "My Room", Dada Space, "House No.8", Insound, sila.fm, Sveta Sviridenko, Kirill Andryushchenko, Seryozha Ivin, all the actors and the world's best dog — Darcy ❤️

Dodo
Видеоролик

Стратегия коммуникаций, серия рекламных роликов.
 

Крупнейший украинский производитель пазлов DoDo Toys продается по всей Украине и в Европе. У DoDo Toys очень высокое качество продукта:

  • все иллюстрации создаются профессиональными художниками с учетом психологии детей;
  • благодаря качественным материалам, пазлы можно собирать и разбирать много раз, уголки не гнутся и не расслаиваются, даже если пазл собирает маленький ребенок.
     

Задача, с которой заказчик обратился в агентство, звучала амбициозно: не просто закрепиться на западном рынке, но и занять заметные позиции на самом крупном маркетплейсе мира — Amazon.

Погружение

Несмотря на кажущуюся простоту продукта, мы решили изучить то, как устроена категория пазлов. Первое, на что обратили внимание — на этом рынке все говорят о рациональном. Цена, безопасность, качество материала,  удобство доставки, бла-бла-бла. Слишком скучно, как для детской категории. В результате, покупатели по всему миру выбирают пазлы, опираясь лишь на их привлекательность и цену. 

Люди всегда интереснее продуктов. Глубинные интервью с молодыми родителями рассказали нам многое о их мотивах, потребностях и болях, связанных с играми. Оказалось, что для многих игра в пазлы с ребенком быстро наскучивает. Не потому, что им неинтересно играть со своим чадом. А потому, что игра сама по себе проста, и уже после первой сборки взрослые не знают, что еще можно с ней делать. 

И мы подумали: а что, если мы перестанем продавать мамам и папам пазлы, и начнем продавать вовлеченность в процесс игры и пользу от совместно проведенного времени? Так мы косвенно решаем одну из распространенных болей работающих родителей: чувство вины за то, что они  уделяют детям недостаточно внимания. 

Решение

Вернувшись после глубинных интервью к продукту, мы заметили одну особенность: все пазлы DoDo позволяют создавать каждый раз разные истории. В одной линейке пазлы можно собирать по-разному. Вторая линейка включает в себя сразу несколько пазлов в каждой коробке. Иллюстрации пазлов в третьей линейке состоят из огромного количества ярких персонажей и элементов. Получается, что в собранном виде пазлы DoDo становятся фундаментом для разных сюжетов, позволяя ребенку находить в них каждый раз новые истории, а родителям — не скучать в процессе игры. 

На одной и той же картинке мама расскажет одну историю, малыш — другую, а папа — третью. А через месяц — четвертую, пятую и шестую. Так в пазле появляется новый слой, развивающий, объясняющий, как устроен мир. 

Нам лишь оставалось придумать название для нового вида игры с пазлами. Так родился термин «пазлтеллинг» — объединение сторителлинга и пазлов. Который теперь будет связан со всей продукцией бренда DoDo.

«У панды Стива мамой была, эмм, сова. Все удивлялись: панда Стив, ты совсем не похож на маму...». 

«В одной волшебной стране животные специально завели себе людей...».

«Это — красная машина, на которой уточки убегают от черного кота…».

«Уже в семнадцатый раз доблестные Саша, его сестра Таня и храбрый пес Джек летели в космическую экспедицию...». 

По сути, паззлтеллинг — это многоуровневая инструкция, которая прилагается к игре. Она снабжает родителей подсказками, о чем разговаривать с ребенком, в какие темы можно увести историю и чему новому научить каждый раз во время собирания пазла. Так мы получаем и развитие, и передачу ценностей, и сказкотерапию, и драгоценное время совместного творчества ребенка и мамы/папы. В слогане кампании мы отразили ключевую ценность продукта для родителя и ребенка — «Один пазл — бесконечные истории». 

«

Самым интересным в этой задаче было докопаться до неочевидной боли покупателя и найти решение для родителей, детей и производителя. При этом решение простое, бюджетное: фактически равное стоимости бумаги, на которой оно напечатано.

Макс Бурцев, креативный директор Arriba!

«

Ролики соединили иллюстрации из пазлов — нашу гордость! — с теми, кто в них играет, и получилось, как нам кажется, очень живо и весело. Мы заметили, что когда дети видят в “мультфильме” оживших героев своих пазлов, это приводит их в восторг: тут я держу картинку с пандой в руках, а тут эта же панда летит по небу рядом с совой с соседней картинки. Новое слово “пазлтеллинг”, придуманное Arriba!, нам кажется простым и запоминающимся, ведь все любят рассказывать истории, особенно дети, и многие знают слово “сторителлинг”. Уверены, что новая кампания расширит число покупателей пазлов DoDo по всему миру, а те, кто с нами уже знаком, по-новому посмотрят на любимые пазлы. И, как всегда, спасибо Arriba!, не только за отличные рекламный продукт, но и за то, что даете возможность посмотреть по-другому на свое любимое “детище”.

Елена Терпай, сооснователь DoDo Toys

Клиент: Dodo
Елена Терпай, Дмитрий Терпайоснователи.

Agency & Production: Arriba!

Макс БурцевСreative Director;
Юля ГапонAccount Manager;
Влад ТорскийStrategist;
Стаська ПадалкаСreative Group Head;
Юля РазвенковаDesigner; 

Лада СабоваDirector & Editor;
Паша ИткинDOP & Color Grading;
Мерьям Йол, Денис ГалушкаProducers;
Катерина Романенко, Наталия ВасилюкIllustrations;
 

Анастасия Стешкина, Оксана Бандура, Ирина Макиевская  — Animation; 
Юлия ДеркеArt Director;
Лена ВязовскаяArt Department;
Виталий БачакоGaffer;
Сергей КриницкийGrip; 
Павел Лихота1st Camera Engineer;
Илона ГолубеваStyle & Makeup;
Оля МеркуловаDesigner.
Sound4Ears Sound Production:
Василий Явтушенко, Данила ОкуловSound Design;
Василий ЯвтушенкоEditing & Mixing;
Вячеслав ЗабаштаFoley;

PX Rental, Mental Complex StudioTechnical Support. 

Special Thanks: «Моя Комната», Dada Space, «Дом №8», Insound, sila.fm, Свете Свириденко, Кириллу Андрющенко, Сереже Ивину, всем актерам и лучшему в мире псу — Дарси ❤️